Who we are


Solway Firth Partnership membership is open to anyone with an interest in the coast and sea. Membership is free, as are all our events and publications.

Our membership includes both organisations and individuals. Member organisations are set out in our constitution. To become an individual member, simply send us a completed membership form.

Board of Trustees

Solway Firth Partnership is an independent charity and is governed by a Board of Trustees. The Board is drawn from the membership and includes representatives of member organisations and individuals. Trustees are elected at our AGM which is held alongside our annual conference and is open to everyone.

Mr Alastair McNeill Chairman
Cllr John Cook Allerdale Borough Council
Cllr Anthony Markley Cumbria County Council
Cllr John Collier Carlisle City Council
Cllr Malcolm Johnstone Dumfries & Galloway Council
Michael Cowan, Deputised by Pauline Gorley Maryport Harbour Authority
Mr Charles Edwards Individual
Mrs June Lochhead Individual
Mr James Mitchell Individual
Mr Rupert Shaw MBE Individual
Mrs Ann Lackie Individual


The Solway Firth Partnership staff team is based at Campbell House in Dumfries.
There are two core staff with Project Staff when projects are running.

Clair McFarlan Partnership Manager

Paul Mackey Administrator / Finance Officer

Nic Coombey Project Officer

Morag Walker Project Assistant

Georgina Reid SMILE Project Officer