Who we are



Solway Firth Partnership membership is open to anyone with an interest in the coast and sea. Membership is free, as are all our events and publications.


Our membership includes both organisations and individuals. Member organisations are set out in our constitution. To become an individual member, simply send us a completed membership form.


Board of Trustees


Solway Firth Partnership is an independent charity and is governed by a Board of Trustees. The Board is drawn from the membership and includes representatives of member organisations and individuals. Trustees are elected at our AGM which is held alongside our annual conference and is open to everyone.


Mr Alastair McNeill



Cllr William Jefferson with Cllr Michael Heaslip as Deputy

Allerdale Borough Council


Cllr Anthony Markley

Cumbria County Council


Cllr Therese Sidgewick

Carlisle City Council


Cllr Malcolm Johnstone

Dumfries & Galloway Council


Mr Charles Edwards



Mrs June Lochhead



Mr James Mitchell



Mr Rupert Shaw MBE



Mrs Ann Lackie





The Solway Firth Partnership staff team is based at Campbell House in Dumfries. There are two core staff with Project Staff when projects are running.


Clair McFarlan

Partnership Manager


Paul Mackey

Administrator / Finance Officer


Nic Coombey

Solway Coastwise Coordinator


Morag Walker

Solway Coastwise Assistant


Emma Baruah

SMILE Project Officer






SFP News
Latest Tidelines

Tidelines spring/summer 2018

Solway Firth Partnership